Colorado

Place of application: County offices of the state

Colorado Department of Human Services.

Scope of coverage: Optional state supplement
provided to all SSI recipients, including children,
residing in the specified living arrangements (see Table

State Supplementation

1). Persons living in the household of another are
included under the living independently standard,; state
supplement is increased to offset the reduced federal
Administration: State Department of Human Services. ~ Payment. Atage 65, a disabled recipient may elect to
transfer to the aged category or remain in the disabled
category.

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation

Optional State Supplementation
) Resource limitations: Federal SSI regulations apply.
deducting the amount of indebtedness or encumbrances)

Effective date: January 1, 1974. . . . .
is considered in determining resources.

Statutory basis for payment: Colorado Revised

Statutes 26-2, section 202-209, 1973, as amended. Income exclusions: Federal SSI regulations apply.

Recoveries, liens, and assignments: None.

Funding

Administration: 80 percent state funds, 20 percent local Financial responsibility of relatives: Spouse for
funds. spouse.

Assistance: 100 percent state funds for the aged; 80

percent state funds, 20 percent local funds for the blind Interim assistance: State participates.

and disabled.

Payment levels: See Table 1.

Passalong method: Maintaining total expenditures.
Number of recipients: See Table 2.

Table 1.
Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2004 (in dollars)

Combined federal and state State supplementation
Living arrangement Individuall Couple Individual Couple
Living independently or in the home of another # 601.00 1,193.00 37.00 347.00
Adult foster care 803.00 ®1,588.00 239.00 > 742.00
Receiving home care © 967.00 o 403.00

NOTE: ... =not applicable.

a. State supplement is increased to offset the reduced federal payment for persons living in the home of another.

b. Couples are treated as two individuals starting with the month after leaving an independent living arrangement.
c. Represents maximum allowance. Lesser amounts may be paid according to the amount of home care needed.

DEFINITIONS:

Living independently or in the home of another. Includes recipients who reside in a federal Code A or B living arrangement, meet the
state eligibility requirements, and do not qualify for other state arrangements.

Adult foster care. Includes recipients who reside in a federal Code A living arrangement and are residing in an approved supervised living
facility known as an adult foster home.

Receiving home care. Includes recipients who receive care in their own home from qualified personnel and who would otherwise be in a
nursing home if this care were unavailable.
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Colorado

Table 2.
Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2002
Disabled
Living arrangement Total Aged Blind Adults Children ?
All recipients 34,982 20,420 27 13,782 753
Living independently or in the home of
another 29,238 17,548 15 11,278 397
Adult foster care 116 25 0 91 0
Home care 5,628 2,847 12 2,413 356
NOTE: Data shown are for 2002. The state did not provide data for 2004.
a. Includes blind children.
State Assistance for Special Needs Medicaid
Administration Eligibility

Colorado Department of Social Services.

Special Needs Circumstances

Funeral expenses: If cost of funeral home or cemetery
does not exceed $2,500, the benefit maximum is $1,500.
If cost exceeds $2,500, no assistance is provided.

Other: County social services boards may choose to

provide optional supplementation for other special needs

circumstances.

Criteria: SSI program guidelines (Title XV1).

Determined by: Social Security Administration.

Medically Needy Program

State does not provide a program for the medically
needy.

Unpaid Medical Expenses

The Social Security Administration obtains this
information.
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Montana

Montana

State Supplementation

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation

Administration: Social Security Administration.

Optional State Supplementation
Administration: Social Security Administration.
Effective date: July 1, 1974.

Statutory basis for payment: Montana Code
Annotated 52-1-104.

Funding
Administration: State funds.
Assistance: State funds.

Passalong method: Maintaining payment levels.

Place of application: Developmental Disabilities and
Adult Protective Services District Offices, Child and
Family Services Division of the Department of Public
Health and Human Services, and other designated
contracting agencies.

Scope of coverage: Optional state supplement
provided to all persons residing in specified living
arrangements (see Table 1). All disabled children,
including the blind, who are eligible for SSI and reside
in a certified foster home are eligible to receive the state
supplement.

Resource limitations: Federal SSI regulations apply.
Income exclusions: Federal SSI regulations apply.
Recoveries, liens, and assignments: None.
Financial responsibility of relatives: None.

Interim assistance: State participates.

Payment levels: See Table 1.

Number of recipients: See Table 2.

State Assistance for Special Needs

State does not provide assistance for special needs.

Medicaid

Eligibility
Criteria: SSI program guidelines (Title XV1).

Determined by: Social Security Administration.

Medically Needy Program

State provides a program for the aged, blind, and
disabled medically needy.

Unpaid Medical Expenses

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this
information.
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Montana

Table 1.
Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2004 (in dollars)
State Combined federal and state State supplementation

Living arrangement code Individuall Couple Individual Couple
Personal care facility G 658.00 1,039.00 94.00 193.00
Group home for the mentally ill or disabled H 658.00 1,039.00 94.00 193.00
Community home for the physically or

developmentally disabled | 658.00 1,039.00 94.00 193.00
Child and adult foster care home J 616.75 956.50 52.75 110.50
Transitional living services for the

developmentally disabled K 590.00 903.00 26.00 57.00

NOTES: All care facilities must be state certified.
Up to $100 may be retained per month as a personal needs allowance, depending on the facility.

DEFINITIONS:
G: Personal care facility. A facility that provides 24-hour personal care services to five or more persons who are not in need of skilled
nursing care. Personal care services include help with eating, walking, dressing, bathing, etc., as well as supervision, local transportation,
and protective oversight. These facilities must be licensed by the Department of Public Health and Human Services. Residents must:

* Be 18 years of age or older,

* Be ambulatory,

« Not be incontinent, and

« Not need chemical or physical restraints.
H: Group home for the mentally ill or disabled. Provides residential services to mentally ill persons in the community. Must have current
license from the Department of Public Health and Human Services.

I: Community home for the physically or developmentally disabled. Homes for the developmentally disabled provide a family-type
residence and related residential services to persons with developmental disabilities. Children can be residents of these homes. Homes for
the severely disabled provide a home-like residence for two to eight severely disabled persons. Persons with a primary diagnosis of mental
illness are not included in the latter homes. These homes must be licensed by the Department of Public Health and Human Services.

J: Child and adult foster care home. A children's foster home is a licensed home that provides care to a child. An adult foster home is a
home licensed by the Department of Public Health and Human Services that provides personal and custodial care to disabled adults or aged
persons.

K: Transitional living services for the developmentally disabled. This program provides an intermediate step between the group home
and independent living. It consists of persons living in congregate apartments with some staff supervision. Staff provide assistance in such
areas of daily living as cooking, shopping, and cleaning.

Table 2.
Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2004
State Disabled
Living arrangement code Total Aged Blind Adults Children
All recipients 909 27 12 811 59

Personal care facility G 99 15 1 83 0
Group home for the mentally ill

or disabled H 33 0 0 33 0
Community home for the

physically or developmentally

disabled I 564 8 10 546 0
Child and adult foster care home J 175 4 1 111 59
Transitional living services for

the developmentally disabled K 38 0 0 38 0
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North Dakota

North Dakota

NOTE: This information is for 2002. The state did not
provide information for 2004.

State Supplementation

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation

No recipients.

Optional State Supplementation

Administration: State-administered through the local
county offices of social services. Payments are made
under the vendor payment program known as Aid to the
Aged, Blind, and Disabled.

Effective date: July 1993.

Statutory basis for payment: North Dakota Century
Code, chapter 50-24.5.

Funding
Administration: State funds.
Assistance: State and county funds.

Passalong method: Maintaining payment levels.
Place of application: County social service offices.

Scope of coverage: Coverage for residential and in-
home options for aged, blind, and disabled SSI
recipients is limited to adults in licensed basic care
facilities or licensed foster homes and to those receiving
in-home services enabling the recipient to remain at
home.

Resource limitations: Federal Medicaid resource
limitations used, except a more restrictive disqualifying
transfer provision and more restrictive disqualifying
penalties apply.

Income exclusions: Cost of guardianship fee of upto 5
percent of the monthly gross income. Sixty-five dollars
plus one-half of the remaining monthly gross earned
income. Personal needs allowance of $60.

Recoveries, liens, and assignments: State law
provides for recovery of supplementation from the
estates of former recipients and deceased spouses of
deceased former recipients.

Financial responsibility of relatives: Limited to
spouse for spouse (follows Medicaid rules).

Interim assistance: State does not participate.
Payment levels: See Table 1.

Number of recipients: See Table 2.

State Assistance for Special Needs

Administration

County social service boards.

Special Needs Circumstances
At option of individual counties.

Transportation costs, meals, and lodging: Twenty-
one cents per mile for obtaining medical services if
recipient uses own car. The cost of meals (up to $20 per
day) and lodging (up to $35 per day), if verified as
related to obtaining approved health services, may be
granted if the individual is away from home for 24 hours
or more.

Medicaid

Eligibility
Criteria: State guidelines.

Determined by: State.

Medically Needy Program

State provides a program for the aged, blind, and
disabled medically needy.

Unpaid Medical Expenses

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this
information.
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North Dakota

Table 1.
Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2004 (in dollars)

Combined federal and state State supplementation
Living arrangement Individuall Couple Individual Couple
Licensed basic care facility 1,672.60 3,327.20 1,108.60 2,481.20

NOTES: Payment amounts shown are based on the 2002 state supplement and the 2004 federal benefit rate.

Basic Care Assistance Program pays a maximum of $56.12 per day.

Couples residing in this living arrangement are treated as two individuals starting with the month after leaving an independent living
arrangement.

The state pays the difference between the basic rate and the SSI payment, or any other income received by a recipient. This is based on a
30-day month at the maximum rate.

DEFINITION:

Licensed basic care facility. Includes recipients in room and board facilities with five or more individuals who because of impaired capacity
for independent living require health, social, or personal care services but do not require 24-hour medical or nursing services.

Table 2.

Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2002

Living arrangement | Totall Aged Blind Disabled
Licensed basic care facility 465 439 0 26

NOTE: Data are for 2002. The state did not provide data for 2004.
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South Dakota

South Dakota

State Supplementation

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation

Administration: Social Security Administration.

Optional State Supplementation

Administration: State Department of Social Services.
State-administered in local offices for assisted living and
foster care home arrangements; state-administered in
state offices for independent arrangements.

Effective date: February 1, 1975.

Statutory basis for payment: South Dakota Codified
Laws Annotated 28-5A-1.

Funding
Administration: State funds.
Assistance: State funds.

Passalong method: Maintaining payment levels.

Place of application: Local offices of the state
Department of Social Services for individuals in assisted

Table 1.

living facilities or in adult foster care homes. State uses
information from the Social Security Administration to
identify recipients who are living independently and
have no other income.

Scope of coverage: Optional state supplement
provided to all SSI recipients who live independently
and have no other source of income and to those who
live in assisted living facilities or in adult foster care
homes and who have net income less than the
supplementation levels. Blind and disabled children
who meet the income and resource limitations and live
in assisted living facilities or adult foster care homes are
eligible for optional supplementation.

Resource limitations: Federal SSI regulations apply.

Income exclusions: State excludes $30 of the federal
SSI payment to recipients in assisted living facilities or
foster care homes.

Recoveries, liens, and assignments: None.
Financial responsibility of relatives: None.
Interim assistance: State does not participate.
Payment levels: See Table 1.

Number of recipients: See Table 2.

Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2004 (in dollars)

Combined federal and state

State supplementation

Living arrangement Individuall Couple Individual Couple
Living independently # 579.00 861.00 15.00 15.00
Assisted living facility P 1,095.00 c 531.00 c
Adult foster care home ” 831.00 c 267.00 c

a. Limited to SSI recipients with no other source of income.

Lesser amounts may be paid depending on cost of care in the facility. State provides an income disregard of $30 per month of the federal

SSI payment.

c. Couples residing in these living arrangements are treated as individuals starting with the month after leaving an independent living

arrangement.
DEFINITIONS:

Living independently. Includes all recipients residing in a federal Code A or C living arrangement who are eligible for state supplementation

and are not included under another state living arrangement.

Assisted living facility or adult foster care home. Includes recipients residing in facilities or homes that meet state licensing or
certification requirements and provide personal care environments (i.e., one that provides personal care and services in addition to food,
shelter, and laundry to recipients who do not need skilled nursing care). Residents in personal care environments must be able to participate
and cooperate in performing their normal activities of daily living even though they need some assistance.
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South Dakota

Table 2.
Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2004
Living arrangement | Totall Aged Blind Disabled
All recipients 3,684 = -- -
Living independently 3,399 - - -
Assisted living facility 276 = = -
9 - -- -

Adult foster care home

NOTE: -- = not available.

State Assistance for Special Needs

State does not provide assistance for special needs.

Medicaid

Eligibility
Criteria: SSI program guidelines (Title XV1).

Determined by: Social Security Administration.

Medically Needy Program

State does not provide a program for the medically
needy.

Unpaid Medical Expenses

The Social Security Administration obtains this
information.
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Utah

Funding

Utah Administration: State funds.

Assistance: State funds.

Passalong method: Maintaining payment levels.

State Supplementation Place of application: Social Security Administration

field offices.
Mandatory Minimum Supplementation

Scope of coverage: Optional state supplement
No recipients. provided to all SSI recipients, including children, who
are living alone or with others.

Optional State Supplementation
Administration: Social Security Administration.
Effective date: July 1, 1978.

Statutory basis for payment: Appropriation Act for the
Department of Workforce Services, 1978/1979.

Resource limitations: Federal SSI regulations apply.
Income exclusions: Federal SSI regulations apply.
Recoveries, liens, and assignments: None.

Financial responsibility of relatives: None.

Interim assistance: State participates.

Payment levels: See Table 1.

Number of recipients: See Table 2.

Table 1.
Optional state supplementation payment levels, January 2004 (in dollars)

State Combined federal and state

State supplementation

Living arrangement code Individuall Couple Individual Couple
Living alone or with others A 564.00 850.60 0 4.60
Living in the household of another B 379.13 573.73 3.13 9.73
DEFINITIONS:
A: Living alone or with others. Includes recipients residing in a federal Code A living arrangement.
B: Living in the household of another. Includes recipients residing in a federal Code B living arrangement.
Table 2.
Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2004
State Disabled
Living arrangement code Total Aged Blind Adults Children
All recipients 1,590 380 10 990 210

Living alone or with others A 670 290 0 380 0
Living in the household of

another B 920 90 10 610 210
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Utah

State Assistance for Special Needs

Medically Needy Program

State does not provide assistance for special needs.

Medicaid

State provides a program for the aged, blind, and
disabled medically needy.

Eligibility
Criteria: SSI program guidelines (Title XV1).

Determined by: State.

Unpaid Medical Expenses

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this
information.
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Wyoming

Wyoming

State Supplementation

Mandatory Minimum Supplementation

Administration: State Department of Family Services,
Economic Assistance.

Optional State Supplementation

Administration: State Department of Family Services,
Economic Assistance.

Effective date: July 1, 1977.

Statutory basis for payment: Wyoming Statutes
42-2-1083.

Funding
Administration: State funds.
Assistance: State funds.

Passalong method: Maintaining payment levels.

Place of application: No application required. State
uses computerized information from the Social Security
Administration to identify eligible recipients.

Scope of coverage: Optional state supplement
provided to all aged, blind, and disabled persons who
receive SSI as the sole source of their income and live
independently or in the household of another. Blind and
disabled children may be eligible for supplementation.

Table 1.

Resource limitations: Federal SSI regulations apply.
Income exclusions: Federal SSI regulations apply.
Recoveries, liens, and assignments: None.
Financial responsibility of relatives: None.

Interim assistance: State does not participate.
Payment levels: See Table 1.

Number of recipients: See Table 2.

State Assistance for Special Needs

State does not provide assistance for special needs.

Medicaid

Eligibility
Criteria: SSI program guidelines (Title XV1).

Determined by: Social Security Administration.

Medically Needy Program

State does not provide a program for the medically
needy.

Unpaid Medical Expenses

The Social Security Administration obtains this
information.

Optional state supplementation payment levels, January and June 2004 (in dollars)

Combined federal and state

State supplementation

Living arrangement Individuall Couple Individual Couple
January 2004
Living independently 573.90 871.12 9.90 25.12
Living in the household of another 389.41 594.36 13.41 30.36
June 2004
Living independently 574.19 871.84 10.19 25.84
Living in the household of another 389.81 595.24 13.81 31.24

DEFINITIONS:

Living independently. Includes only SSI recipients who reside in a federal Code A living arrangement and have no federal countable

income.

Living in the household of another. Includes only SSI recipients who reside in a federal Code B living arrangement and have no federal

countable income.
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Wyoming

Table 2.
Number of persons receiving optional state supplementation, January 2004
Disabled
Living arrangement Total Aged Blind Adults Children
All recipients 2,691 -- -- -- --

Living independently
Living in the household of another

NOTE: -- = not available.
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